

Extraordinary Meeting of the Council

Minutes of an Extraordinary Meeting of the Council held in The Council Chamber, County Hall, St Annes Crescent, Lewes on Wednesday, 7 May 2014 at 1.45pm

Present:

Councillor M P Chartier (Chair)

Councillors S Adeniji, R E Allen, G R Amy, R Blackman, C A Bowers, C J Butler, J L Carr, M A Cutress, S B Davy, A Dean, D R Edmunds, I Eiloart, P L Franklin, P Gander, P F Gardiner, S J Gauntlett, D M Gray, B W Groves, J V Harris, J M Harrison-Hicks, P A Howson, A T Jones, C S Lambert, J N MacCleary, R Main, R K Maskell, E C Merry, I A Nicholson, C R O'Keeffe, S J Osborne, J V S Page, R Robertson, E E J Russell, S Saunders, H J F Sheppard, A X Smith, J Stockdale, C Sugarman, B M Warren and I J White.

Minutes

Action

113 Minutes

The Minutes of the Meeting of the Council held on 26 February 2014 were approved as a correct record and signed by the Chair.

114 Notice Received Proposing the Removal of the Leader of the Council, Councillor Blackman

The Chair of the Council reported that a Notice had been received from Councillor Gardiner, as Proposer, and Councillor Gauntlett, as Seconder, that Councillor Sarah Osborne replace Councillor Rob Blackman as Leader of Lewes District Council, details of which were set out on the meeting

Agenda papers together with details of the way in which the Notice would be progressed at the meeting.

In the first instance, it was necessary for the Council to consider a motion relating to the removal of the Leader of the Council following which, if that motion was Carried, the Council would be invited to consider a motion that Councillor Osborne be elected as Leader of the Council.

At the invitation of the Chair of the Council, Councillor Gardiner moved, and Councillor Gauntlett seconded, the motion:

"That Councillor Blackman be removed as Leader of Lewes District Council."

Councillors Gardiner and Gauntlett then delivered speeches in support of their nomination of Councillor Osborne.

Councillors Nicholson and Jones then delivered speeches in support of Councillor Blackman.

The motion was put to the meeting, <u>Declared Not Carried</u>, and the vote thereon was recorded in accordance with Council Procedure Rule 17 as follows:

For the Motion:

Councillors R E Allen, G R Amy, C A Bowers, C J Butler, J L Carr, M P Chartier, M A Cutress, A Dean, I Eiloart, P F Gardiner, S J Gauntlett, D M Gray, C S Lambert, J N MacCleary, R Main, S J Osborne, J V S Page, S Saunders, J Stockdale (19).

Against the Motion:

Councillors R Blackman, S B Davy, D R Edmunds, P L Franklin, P Gander, B W Groves, J V Harris, J M Harrison-Hicks, P A Howson, A T Jones, R K Maskell, E C Merry, I A Nicholson, C R O'Keeffe, R Robertson, E E J Russell, H J F Sheppard, A X Smith, C Sugarman, B M Warren and I J White (21).

Abstained:

Councillor S Adeniji (1)

Resolved:

114.1 Accordingly.

CMT (to note)

115 Announcement by the Leader of the Council

The Leader of the Council, Councillor Blackman, delivered a speech during which he thanked those Councillors who had expressed their support for him as Leader.

Page 2 of 3

The meeting ended at 2.16pm.

M P Chartier Chair